Skip to main content

Texas A&M University

The School of Education and Human Development at Texas A&M University is committed to transforming lives and preparing future educators through research, service, and opportunity. We are proud to partner with the Charles Butt Foundation and have granted the Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers to undergraduate students since its inaugural cohort in 2018. We are among the top producers of Texas teachers, including those who focus on special education. Students in our Special Education program apply their coursework in real-life classroom settings and earn teacher certification in Early Childhood (EC) to 12th-grade special education, EC-6 general education, and the English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement.

  • Special education program

University Program Contact:

Clinical Associate Professor and Associate Department Head



Years as a partner program


Scholarships awarded


Current Scholars


Scholar Alumni

“[The Charles Butt Scholarship] is such a great opportunity to gain mentorship before going into the teaching world. You have an immediate network of people who not only are willing to help you in any situation but WANT to help you!”

Leslie Lehremann
Charles butt scholar ’27

The Charles Butt Scholarship has and continues to prepare me for my future job as a teacher through the opportunities, mentorship, and resources available. I am surrounded by a community of educators who play a role in so many of the lives of our youth today.

Carley Haas
Charles Butt Scholar ’24

Charles Butt Scholars

Kylie Allums
Olga Carrillo
Kaitlyn Casper
Olivia Davila
Sitlalli Davis
Parker Denman
Shea Dudney
Mary Grace Dunbar
Abby Garrett
Heidi Gidden
Moriah Gomez
Carley Haas
Emma Kent
Alyssa Koehler

Leslie Lehrmann
Allison Macha
Alexia Mejia
Hoson Nounou
Regan O’Neill
Caitlin Phillips
Sydney Powelson
Madyson Purdy
Amelia Rector
Lia Rodriguez
Jamie Siegel
Claire Simmons
Kirstin Spence

Scholar Alumni

Aminah Abodunrin
Yoselin Agundis
Rebekah Ard
Aryn Armstrong
Olivia Baldauf
Emily Bard
Bethany Belote
Kellie Beran
Phillip Bondoc
Brynne Burnett
Lillian Burton
Alyssa Early
Kaleigh Evans
Anna Fedewa
Cindy Fernandez
Lauren Flores
Emily Fortsch
Savannah Gibson
Elizabeth Gonzalez
Abigail Gwosdz
Bryan Hall
Kaitlyn Hardaway
Hope Harrod
Jillian Haug
Rebekah Hogan
Kayleigh Holub
Stephanie Ingram
Chelsea Jernigan

Bailee Johnson
Kathryn Kaimana
Cristina Keys
Casey Kirk
Victoria Klein
Hanna Maynard
Macy Melton
Isabella Miracle
McKenna Mohr
Danielle Mokry
Peyton Morgan
Samantha Mosqueda
Sarah Orange
Emily Palmer
Scout Paterson
Alice Philpott
Herb’chelle Plumber
Byrklin Quisenberry
Addie Ralph
Monica Sattler
Avery Seago
Abbie Smith
Grayson Snyder
Amy Toeniskoetter
Ann Marie West
Amy Whelchel
Kathryn Wolf

Leadership: Charles Butt Scholarship, Stories of Impact

Leading by inclusion

Early on this scholar knew that inclusion — in education, postsecondary opportunities, careers, and our community — would be her life’s passion. 

Anna Fedewa feature

Are you a current Scholar or Scholar Alumni?

We invite you to join two online communities created just for you: CBF Connect – our new networking platform – and our private Charles Butt Scholars Instagram account.

Charles Butt Foundation Contact:

Headshot of Christina Dunigan, Program Director for Charles Butt Scholarship

Christina Dunigan

Program Director – Charles Butt Scholarship